Pre-Op: Liquid Day 3

Today marks day 3 of my liquid diet, and it’s going pretty well. I won’t pretend that it isn’t a bit tedious, or that I don’t know that it will only become more so with time. On a walk yesterday, I bought myself a child-sized fresh squeezed juice (lemon-ginger-spinach-apple) for a treat.

On my way back, I stopped at the grocery store (a very different experience than just a few days before) and I picked up some chicken bouillon, low-sodium V8, sugar-free Jell-O, and sugar-free drink mix, just in case I get bored of my latest incarnation of the ‘what’s for dinner’ struggle: chocolate or vanilla. If I’m hungry, I’ve been ignoring it. There is simply no way that I can have solid foods for a while. And that’s okay.

At the risk of quoting a motivational poster or falling back on bumper sticker wisdom, I did not come this far to only come this far.

I have focused myself on other things– I’ve been walking more, even though it’s quite cold. I’ve started projects at home, cleaning and organizing in order to get myself ready, slowly getting rid of any junk I’ve acquired over the years and paring down to what’s important. This isn’t the season for excess of any kind. I have also been focused on trying to get enough rest so that I am physically at my best for surgery and pre-surgical testing. I would hate for my surgery date to get pushed back. I’m ready now.

This morning, I received a call from my surgeon’s office letting me know that the surgery has been approved by insurance. It still feels a bit surreal, but everything is coming together now.

T-minus 12 days.

Leave a Reply

