Surgery Day: Before

My surgery is set to begin in about an hour. I’m working from my phone and I’m not sure how much time I will have before the team comes in, but I didn’t want to miss the opportunity to update before surgery.

Right now, I’m sitting in a room in beige hospital socks (my favorite of all hospital socks colors), with a 22g IV, double-gowned. It’s freezing. I can hear crying and screaming down the hall because a patient is quite audibly terrified of needles, but I’m remarkably calm. I’m overwhelmed by so many well-wishes and the outpouring of love from so many.

Thank you all.

In the two pre-op diet weeks, I’ve lost 17.8 lbs (fat, not muscle mass), and 40 collective inches (breakdown to follow later).

Here goes nothing. See you guys on the other side. I’m ready to be an after.

PS- Apparently IVs are not the only thing agitating my neighbor. Can we get a little Haldol in here? 

PPS- Anybody? Versed? 

2 thoughts on “Surgery Day: Before

Leave a Reply

