Healing

I felt a lot better today. Getting up from a sitting position is becoming faster and easier. I can bend more easily to pick things up, and I’m not having any difficulties getting my fluids in, 2 ounces at a time. I haven’t taken any pain meds or Zofran in about 48 hours, and I’ve felt pretty good without them.

Last night was my first night on my own since surgery, and I managed just fine. I fed the cats, and got a little cleaning done,  just to feel somewhat productive. I watched Netflix and fell asleep on the couch– initially, sitting up, but then supine. I believe I made up for my pre-op insomnia. I slept for 12-1/2 hours.

Today, I’m still just a little sore. My incisions have reached that annoying, itchy stage, and each is surrounded by a small bruise, but it’s minor and to be expected. My throat, which was slightly sore from intubation, is back to normal. My abdomen still feels like I’ve done a hundred thousand crunches, but it’s getting better. Getting into and out of a car still takes extra effort, but going over bumps and around corners was much more painful on Tuesday. Coughing is uncomfortable, but it helps when I push a pillow against my abdomen for pressure.

I’m also halfway through my 40-day liquid diet. For most, this is the hardest part of the process, and I seem to be handling it well. I’m sick of protein shakes, but I’m looking forward to continued healing and watching my results.

Leave a Reply

