3 weeks post-op

As great as I have been feeling post-surgery, I have not been feeling the best today. I have been teetering on the brink of a cold for a few days, and some combination of the physical demands of healing, pushing myself to take long walks in freezing weather, and the struggle to get enough rest and fluids in has finally nudged me just over the edge. I’ve spent the past hour trying to decide whether it would be more beneficial to stay up to sip fluids or to go to bed early to catch up on sleep.

I’ve chosen to stay up because I am quite clearly dehydrated. I have been trying to push fluids and vitamins all week because I can only take in small amounts at once. Being sick has caused me to retain water, so progress has stalled for the past few days. IV fluids would be helpful, and if I don’t resolve this in the next couple of days, that might be exactly what happens when I see my doctor on Thursday. 

Today in class, I sipped too much from my water bottle and within a minute, I felt a wave of nausea come over me. This was the first time I had felt that since recovery in the hospital. I narrowly managed to hold it down. Every ounce is hard-won these days. I was not giving in without a fight.

Tonight, broth is helping. I seem to be keeping down more of it, and that may be due to the temperature. Warm liquids are far more tolerable. I even added protein powder to give it a nutritional boost.

I still have so much to be grateful for. It’s Measurement Monday, and I’m down a solid 78.5″ and 55 lbs. overall (44 since beginning my liquid diet on 12/5). 

Now on my 6th week of liquids only, I have almost reached the end of the most difficult part of the diet. Thursday, I will start on pureed/soft foods, continuing on my journey to the new normal.

Leave a Reply

